Join Telangana News Online WhatsApp Group for latest updates

Palair Assembly Constituency

The Palair Assembly constituency is one of the 10 Assembly Constituencies in Khammam district. The Palair assembly constituency number is 113. The Palair Assembly Constituency is said to be a stronghold for the Congress party as the party won about 10 elections since the constituency came into existence. However, TRS wrested the seat from the Congress in the 2016 bypoll.

Tummala Nageswara Rao of TRS party won the 2016 by-election.

Mandals in Palair Assembly Constituency

1. Paleru
2. Khammam Rural
3. Kusumanchi
4. Tirumalayapalem
5. Nelakondapalli

Palair Assembly Constituency By-election 2016

A By-election was necessitated at the Palair Assembly constituency due to the demise of Congress MLA Ramreddy Venkat Reddy. The by-poll results were announced on May 19, 2016.

  • Date of Issue of Gazette Notification: April 22, 2016
  • Last date of Nomination: April 29, 2016
  • Date for scrutiny of Nomination: April 30, 2016
  • Last date for withdrawal of candidatures: May 2, 2016
  • Date of Poll: May 16, 2016
  • Date of Counting: May 19, 2016
  • Date before which election shall be completed: May 21, 2016

Minister for Roads and Buildings Thummala Nageswar Rao is the TRS party candidate for the bypoll. He defeated his nearest Congress rival R Sucharita Reddy by a margin of 45,681 votes. Sucharita Reddy is the widow of the Congress sitting MLA late R Venkat Reddy.

Irrigation minister K Taraka Rama Rao who engineered TRS party victory in the recent municipal polls has taken up campaigning for the party in the Palair Assembly bypoll. On May 8, 2016, he said he would resign from his ministry he TRS loses the election and challenged TPCC president Nalamada Uttam Kumar Reddy whether he would resign to PCC president post if Congress loses.


Candidate Party Votes
Tummala Nageswara Rao Telangana Rashtra Samithi 94940 (55.6%)
Sucharitha Ramreddy Indian National Congress 49258 (28.86%)
Pothineni Sudarsan Rao Communist Party of India (Marxist) 15538
Jajula Bhaskar Shramajeevi Party 3578
Sunkari Rammurthy Independent 2348
Timmidi Hanamantha Rao Independent 569
Veeri Upendar Independent 457
Boddu Sreenu Independent 393
Papetla Saritha Independent 290
Lingala Ravi Kumar Independent 271
Devarakonda Uday Bhaskar Independent 223
Banoth Laxma Naik Independent 212
Nakirikanti Jeevan Sagar Independent 211
None Of The Above None of the Above 2785

List of MLA's of Palair Assembly Constituency

Year Winner Party
2016 Tummala Nageswara Rao TRS
2014 Ramreddy Venkat Reddy INC
2009 Ramreddy Venkata Reddy INC
2004 Sambani Chandrasekhar INC
1999 Sambani Chandrasekhar INC
1994 Venkata Veeratah Sandra CPM
1989 Sambani Chandrasekhar INC
1985 Baji Hanumanthu CPM
1983 Bheemapaka Bhupathi Rao CPI
1978 Hassainu Potta Pinjara INC(I)
1972 Kathula Shanthaiah INC(I)